Kamla Das (1934 – 2009) PGT TGT NET Important points On Kamla Das .

  • Kamla Surayya also known by her one time pen name Madhuikutty and Kamala Das, was an Indian .
  • English poet, and a leading Malyalam author from Kerala.
  • “An Introduction” is a poem by Das which has famous line –
    “I am an Indian very brown, born in Malabar, I speak three languages, write in two and dream in
  • Her first book of poetry Summer in Calcutta was a breath of fresh air in Indian English poetry.
  • Her second book of poetry Descendants was even more explicit woman to – “Gill him what makes you woman, the scent of long hair, the must of, sweet between the breasts, The warm shock menstrual blood and all your endless female hungers” – The Looking Glass.
  • At the age of 42, she published a daring auto-biography ‘My Story’ originally written in Malayalam and
    later in English. It has 50 chapters.
  • In 2009, ‘The Times’ called her ‘The mother of Modern English India Poetry’.
  • She adopted Islam in 1999 and assumed the name Kamala Surayya.
  • She got Sahitya Akademi Award in 1985. She founded a political party called ‘Lok Sera’.

At sunset, on the river ban, Krishna
Loved her for the last time and left. . .

That night in her husband’s arms, Radha felt
So dead that he asked, What is wrong,
Do you mind my kisses, love? And she said,
Not not at all, but thought, What is
It to the corpse if the maggots nip?
Kamala Das, The Descendants

Kamla Das

Work of kamla das

Summer in Calcutta (1965); It consists of 51 poems. In this poem she compares the Sun to a Ripe
Orange and follow:

  1. The Descendants (1967); Contains 29 Poems
  2. The Old Playhouse and other Poems (1973) – Contains 33 Poems.
  3. The Sirens
  4. Alphabet of Lust ;Novel
  5. My Grandmother’s House
  6. English Novel
    • 1976: Alphabet of Lust
    • 1976: My Story
    Short stories
    • 1977: A Doll for the Child Prostitute
    • 1992: Padmavati the Harlot and Other Stories
    • 1964: The Sirens
    • 1965: Summer in Calcutta
    • 1967: The Descendants
    • 1973: The Old Playhouse and Other Poems
    • 1977: The Stranger Time
    • 1979: Tonight, This Savage Rite (with Pritish Nandy)
    • 1984: Collected Poems
    • 1985: The Anamalai Poems
    • 1997: Only the Soul Knows How to Sing
    • 1999: My Mother At Sixty-six
  7. • 2001: Yaa Allah

I am sinner, I am saint. I am the beloved and the betrayed. I have no joys that are not yours, no aches which are not yours. I too call myself I.

Kamla Das

Published by Lucky Saxena

I am lucky saxena. Post Graduate student. Trying to fill some enthusiasm in everyone and provide UGC NET PGT TGT English literature Free Notes to everyone who can not reach to money oriented website or coaching. Try to spread kindness, knowledge and love through my blog.

2 thoughts on “Kamla Das (1934 – 2009) PGT TGT NET Important points On Kamla Das .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: